Artmonk Retreat Online: The Way of the Artmonk in Disrupted Times

3-Day Online Meditation and Creativity Retreat
May 23-25 (Saturday-Monday, Memorial Day Weekend)

LEAD BY SPECIAL GUEST TEACHERS: Joel & Michelle Levey (more info about them below!)

It is time to meet what is happening,
acknowledge the pain,
and channel it into art.
Be part of an outpouring of beauty.

THE ARTMONK RETREAT
A three-day contemplative art-making immersion via Zoom on Memorial Day Weekend. This uplifting and dynamic response to disrupted times offers you a rejuvenating weekend experience featuring:

• guided and silent meditation • guided group creative sessions • solo time to dig into your creative practice (and away from screens) • daily guided movement • a supportive, intimate group •

The Artmonk Retreat explores the interaction of contemplation, creativity, and community in a 3-day program designed to train the mind, access deeper levels of personal and creative insight, and bring these insights back to the world. Whether you are a professional artist or seeking personal development (or both!), Artmonk Retreats are an opportunity to deepen your connection with the source of your creativity.

In an intimate group, we will delve into the overlap of contemplation and creativity, drawing inspiration and teachings from the natural world. From a place of silence and stillness, we will create and explore together.

The program springs from a foundation of silent sitting meditation, punctuated with singing practice and movement meditation. Solo creative sessions are supported by guided creative exercises to get you going.


JOEL & MICHELLE LEVEY
Dr. Joel & Michelle Levey, beloved friends and longtime spiritual advisers to the Art Monastery, have been deeply engaged in many dimensions of consciousness research and the inner science traditions for more than 50 years. They have worked and studied closely with many of the greatest contemplative teachers of our times (including the Dalai Lama, the 16th Karmapa, Thich Nhat Hanh, Ram Dass, Robert Thurman, and Joanna Macy).

The Dalai Lama was an adviser to one of their projects and wrote to them:

“You are presently engaged in work that has great prospects for bringing the Dharma (the inner sciences of human transformation) to a very wide section of people who may not under ordinary circumstances come into contact with these teachings. I am very pleased about the work that you are doing and send you blessings and prayers for your success.”
— The Dalai Lama

Joel & Michelle have been pioneers in bringing mindfulness to the mainstream and have worked with NASA, MIT, Stanford, the Pentagon, Google, and Olympic athletes.

Joel & Michelle’s teachings have inspired many circles of visionary artists and healers through their teachings at IONS, ISSSEEM, Oracle Gatherings, CoSM, Beloved Festival, Burning Man, and as co-creators of the original Artmonk Retreat in 2011.

They have written many books, including Luminous Mind: Meditation and Mind Fitness; Wisdom at Work; Living in Balance; and The Fine Arts of Relaxation, Concentration, and Meditation: Ancient Skills for Modern Minds.


SAMPLE SCHEDULE
Saturday & Sunday
7-8am PDT / 10-11am EDT – Morning Meditation, Singing, Directions Practice

8-9am PDT / 11am-12pm EDT – Offline rest & meal on your own

9-10am PDT / noon-1pm EDT – Dharma talk by the Leveys

10-11am PDT / 1-2pm EDT – Yoga

11-11:30am PDT / 2-2:30pm EDT – Sit

11:30am-12:30pm PDT / 2:30-3:30pm EDT – Guided Creative Session by Suiko

12:30-5pm PDT / 3:30-8pm EDT – offline Solo Creative Time & meal

5-6pm PDT / 8-9pm EDT – Artshare

6-7pm PDT / 9-10pm EDT – Evening Meditation & Singing

Monday
7-8am PDT / 10-11am EDT – Morning Meditation, Singing, Directions Practice

8-9am PDT / 11am-12pm EDT – Offline rest & meal on your own

9-10am PDT / noon-1pm EDT – Dharma talk by the Leveys

10-10:15am PDT / 1-1:15pm EDT – Talk by Suiko

10:15am-1:30pm PDT / 1:15-4:30pm EDT – offline Solo Creative Time & meal

1:30-2:30pm PDT / 4:30-5:30pm EDT – Artshare

2:30-4pm PDT / 5:30-7pm EDT – Closing Ceremony

Posted by

Neva Cockrell is a dancer, director, and movement instructor. She tours internationally with Pilobolus (China, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Dubai, Mexico, Israel, and US) and directs new dance-theater works in the US, Dubai, and Europe with her company Loom Ensemble. When she isn't directing or performing, she is teaching her own movement technique, Catalyst Training, which she developed in 2016. She is based at the Art Monastery in Springfield, VT. Her life path is deeply ground in communal living, body-based activities, art-making, being outside, and contemplative practice.