Contemporary Dance and Yoga Combo Series w/ Neva in Springfield

Contemporary Dance and Yoga Combo Class Series
w/ Neva Cockrell
Professional Dancer from Pilobolus and Loom Ensemble!

The Dance Factory in Springfield
Contemporary Dance & Yoga Combo Class
TEEN & ADULT

TUESDAY NIGHTS
Two 4-week series
Tuesdays 6:30-7:45pm
March 10, 17, 24, 31 AND April 7, 14, 21, 28
$60 for each 4-week series
*TRIAL CLASS March 3, 6:30-7:45pm $15*

THURSDAY MORNINGS
Two 4-week series
Thursdays 9:00-10:15am
March 12, 19, 26 & April 2 AND April 9, 16, 23, 30
$60 for each 4-week series
*TRIAL CLASS March 5, 9:00-10:15am, $15*

Class Description:
Love yoga? Love dance? Love the combination of structured stationary movements with flowing dynamic movements? This is the class for you! We will begin with a series of yoga asana poses focused on anatomy and integration in the body while gently building heat. Then we will move through space! We'll start with some basic contemporary dance skills and then learn a dynamic contemporary phrase, practicing fullness of movement, grace, and power. We'll end with restorative yoga asanas and a luscious savasana. The class is open level, and welcomes people with a diverse movement background.

Bio:
Neva Cockrell is a professional dancer and choreographer. She has been touring internationally with Pilobolus for the past 4 years, including including international tours to 6 countries and serving as Dance Captain for the past 2 years. She also choreographs and directs new dance-theater works in the US, Dubai, and Europe with her company Loom Ensemble. Her diverse background in gymnastics, partner acrobatics, contact improvisation, Capoeira Angola, and Yoga inspire her unique style of Contemporary Dance.

In addition to her path as a dancer she is also the founder of Catalyst Training, her own blend of embodiment practices, a yoga and barre instructor, and avid fitness connoisseur. She taught ballet barre fitness as a Senior Instructor and Teacher Trainer with Physique 57 in NYC, and launched Physique’s first international studio in Dubai. She is yoga certified through Simple Yoga with Eric Stewart, and has played sports her entire life.

Posted by

Neva Cockrell is a dancer, director, and movement instructor. She tours internationally with Pilobolus (China, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Dubai, Mexico, Israel, and US) and directs new dance-theater works in the US, Dubai, and Europe with her company Loom Ensemble. When she isn't directing or performing, she is teaching her own movement technique, Catalyst Training, which she developed in 2016. She is based at the Art Monastery in Springfield, VT. Her life path is deeply ground in communal living, body-based activities, art-making, being outside, and contemplative practice.

When

  • Tuesday Mar 3
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Mar 5
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Mar 10
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Mar 12
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Mar 17
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Mar 19
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Mar 24
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Mar 26
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Mar 31
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Apr 2
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Apr 7
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Apr 9
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Apr 14
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Apr 16
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Apr 21
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Apr 23
    9:00am–10:15am
  • Tuesday Apr 28
    6:30pm–7:45pm
  • Thursday Apr 30
    9:00am–10:15am

Cost

$60 for each 4-week series

Contact


Published January 14, 2020